Resto+Bar MTL

MTL Resto+Bar on aime notre ville!

Au 4051 rue St-Hubert, un nouvel endroit est né. DCMTL a eu le plaisir de participer à l’inauguration du MTL Resto+Bar.

Emma Virginie DCMTL Blog
Photo of Team DCMTL Blog and Nudabite – Emma Parsley & Virginie M. Savoie – courtesy of MTL Resto+Bar

Le projet, explique le gérant Philipe Ferguson est de « mélanger dans notre menu toutes les cultures introduites par les vagues d’immigration à Montréal. Par exemple, les ingrédients des cocktails proviennent de la petite Italie, de la culture anglaise, du quartier chinois et même chose pour la nourriture. »

« La cuisine vous prépare des plats traditionnels avec un côté montréalais. Donc, réconfortante, inspirée des communautés culturelles qui ont fondé la ville. Comme le pâté chinois smoked meat. Notre chef, Sue Helen Boucher a réussi à faire un menu incroyable. »

IMG_3542
Sue Helen à l’oeuvre

 

Annie Roy nous l’a expliqué en détail : «  D’un côté il y a les tapas et les repas principaux de l’autre. Il y a un chiffre associé à chaque plat et cocktail. À l’endos du menu se trouve un plan de Montréal avec les chiffres dispersés. Chaque chiffre permet d’indiquer de quel quartier les recettes proviennent. »

MTL Resto+Bar

Les repas concoctés vont certainement vous plaire. Une expérience gustative incroyable. Sans parler des cocktails signatures. Le plus populaire est l’italien, mais nous sommes également impressionnés par le chinois avec son gout audacieux.

« Le restaurant se veut à la fois idéal pour un 5à9 et pour des soirées pimentées. Le DJ arrive à 21 h. On baisse les lumières, on monte le son et ça se transforme en bar très festif! », déclare le gérant.

IMG_3531

 

Le public cible?

« Jeune professionnel qui veut s’amuser et évidemment nous aimons particulièrement les touristes. Le but c’est que ce soir ça tourne en party! », lance Philippe.

D’où vient le concept?

« Le film L’Auberge Espagnole nous a beaucoup inspirés. C’est notre concept de base. Le bloc appartement nous appartient au complet. Nous tenons des B&B à l’étage au-dessus. L’idée est de donner l’opportunité aux voyageurs de tous les coins du monde de venir travailler avec nous tout en leur permettant de découvrir la culture montréalaise. Le but est de rassembler les gens. »

 

IMG_3533
La cuisine dans un Westfalia

Le B&B

Il y a deux étages. Pour la location des chambres au premier étage, l’équipe priorise les gens venus travailler au Resto+Bar. Mais le deuxième étage est ouvert à tous. Famille ou couple de passage à Montréal. Le service aux chambres est également offert. Les voyageurs peuvent donc commander à manger au restaurant en dessous.

16409693_10154478050617872_64575180_o16388977_10154478050472872_1703361872_o16409756_10154478050442872_325915417_o

« Pour ceux qui veulent travailler avec nous, vous pouvez ne pas avoir d’expérience en restauration. Même si vous ne parlez ni anglais ni français l’idée est de vous permettre d’intégrer et de vous initier à la culture montréalaise avant tout. Nous afficherons partout les annonces des postes de travail disponibles. Kijiji, notre site web, sur les sites de voyages, etc. », affirme Philippe.

 

Share:
Virginie M Savoie

Virginie M Savoie

Rédactrice en chef- Editor in chief Très curieuse, Virginie adore sortir et profiter de ce que la ville à offrir. Book worm, geek et amoureuse de l'Art avec un grand A. Réaliser des entrevues est sa spécialité. Apprendre à connaître les gens en posant des questions inattendues, mais pertinentes c'est le truc pour écrire un article génial. Very curious, Virginie sure enjoys a night out in the town. Book worm, geeky and Art lover. Conducting interviews is her specialty. Getting to know people by asking unexpected but relevant questions is what gives you an awesome article.

3 comments

  1. Hi , I do consider this is a fantastic website. I stumbled upon it on Yahoo , I shall return once again.

  2. Greetings! Quite helpful advice on this article!

    It is the small changes that make the largest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  3. Really great post, I definitely adore this site, keep on it.

Leave a Reply

MTL Resto+Bar Menu

MTL Resto+Bar We Love Our City!

A new restaurant has opened for service at 4051 rue St-Hubert. The DCMTL Team had the pleasure of attending the grand opening of MTL Resto+Bar.

Emma Virginie DCMTL Blog
Photo courtesy of MTL Resto+Bar

MTL Resto+Bar Embraces Culinary Diversity

Manager Philippe Ferguson explains that the project goal is “to use our menu to mix all the different cultures that have made up Montreal’s waves of immigration. For example the cocktail and food ingredients come from little Italy, British culture and Chinese cultures.”

“The kitchen prepares traditional meals with a Montreal twist. Its comfort food, inspired by the cultural communities that have founded our city, an example of this would be the smoked meat shepherd’s pie. Our chef, Sue Helen Boucher has really put together an incredible menu.”

IMG_3542
Sue Helen at work

Annie Roy gives us a more detailed look at the menu “On one hand we have the Tapas options and the main courses on the other. There is a number associated to each plate and cocktail. On the back of the menu there is a map of Montreal with numbers corresponding to different areas of the city. Each number represents the neighbourhood where the recipes come from.

MTL Resto+Bar Menu
Photo courtesy of MTL Resto+Bar

It’s an incredible culinary experience and their list of original meals will please just about anyone. We can’t forget about their signature cocktails! To date, the most popular one on their menu is the Italian, but we were equally impressed by the Chinese, with its audacious flavour mix.

“The restaurant is the perfect venue for 5 to 9 events or to spice things up on a date night. The DJ arrives at 9pm, we lower the lights and turn up the volume and the restaurant transforms into a very festive bar” explains the restaurant manager.

IMG_3531

What’s their target market?

Philippe explains that they are targeting “Young professionals and tourists who are looking for a good time. The goal is that the night turns into a party”.

Where does the concept come from?

“We were inspired by the film L’Auberge Espagnole. “It was the basis for our restaurant’s concept. We own the restaurant and the apartment above, where we have our own B&B. The goal is to give travelers from around the world, the opportunity to come work with us and truly experience Montreal’s culture. We want to bring people together!”

IMG_3533
Kitchen in a Westfalia

The Bed and Breakfast

There are 2 floors to the B&B. The first floor rooms are available, but the team prioritizes travelers who have come to work at MTL Resto+Bar when making the reservation for these rooms. The second floor, however, is open to all, whether they be a family or a couple passing through the city. Room service is also available allowing travelers to enjoy the food from the restaurant below right in their room.

16409693_10154478050617872_64575180_o16388977_10154478050472872_1703361872_o16409756_10154478050442872_325915417_o

“Those who would like to work with us, we accept even those who don’t have restaurant experience. Even if you don’t speak English or French, the idea is to allow people to integrate into Montreal’s diverse culture. We are in the process of posting jobs offers a little bit everywhere, Kijiji, our website, on travel sites and many others” explains Philippe.

Share:
Virginie M Savoie

Virginie M Savoie

Rédactrice en chef- Editor in chief Très curieuse, Virginie adore sortir et profiter de ce que la ville à offrir. Book worm, geek et amoureuse de l'Art avec un grand A. Réaliser des entrevues est sa spécialité. Apprendre à connaître les gens en posant des questions inattendues, mais pertinentes c'est le truc pour écrire un article génial. Very curious, Virginie sure enjoys a night out in the town. Book worm, geeky and Art lover. Conducting interviews is her specialty. Getting to know people by asking unexpected but relevant questions is what gives you an awesome article.

3 comments

  1. Hi , I do consider this is a fantastic website. I stumbled upon it on Yahoo , I shall return once again.

  2. Greetings! Quite helpful advice on this article!

    It is the small changes that make the largest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  3. Really great post, I definitely adore this site, keep on it.

Leave a Reply