DC Citizen: Glen Rotchin

The changing face of District Central The story of District Central is a real Canadian story. A DC citizen who knows more than most about the changes this neighborhood has undergone is building manager and author, Glen Rotchin. Glen represents the third generation of his family’s involvement with the neighborhood, an involvement that dates back […]

Spotlight Artistes DCMTL: Les 3 fab

Et si l’art gouvernait le monde? Etes-vous d’accord si nous disions qu’un quartier devient véritablement dynamique qu’une fois qu’il a attiré des artistes dans la région. Attirés par des propriétés peu coûteuses, les artistes apportent leurs idées uniques, attirent l’attention sur les efforts créatifs et recréent ainsi l’ambiance du quartier. Les artistes s’inspirent et voient […]

F.F.A.T Snaps| Semaine 18 | Le bal Abracadabra du Musée McCord

Le bal annuel du musée McCord était tout et encore plus. Comment le dire autrement? Une soirée 5 étoiles. L’élite montréalaise était au rendez-vous à l’Arsenal. L’équipe du musée nous avait préparé une soirée mémorable. Inspirée par l’exposition Illusions-L’art de la magie, à l’affiche dès le 26 mai, l’événement était en effet magique. Le décor […]

BUSINESS SPOTLIGHT : Restaurant Pasta Bar

DCMTL Blog est toujours à la recherche de bons endroits pour manger. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé qu’il était temps de mettre le spotlight sur l’un des restaurants de la rue Chabanel, le Pasta Bar Créé en 1989, le restaurant Pasta Bar a bientôt 30 ans. Nous avons eu l’opportunité de parler au fondateur et […]

Women Techmakers MTL 2017: We have an inclusion problem in tech

“We have to make our own opportunities, because men aren’t going to do it for us,” Alicia V. Carr from Atlanta declared during her keynote the first morning of Women Techmakers MTL. She should know – at 51, she taught herself Objective C, and used it to build an iOS app to combat domestic violence. […]

Business in the spotlight: Pixmob

DCMTL Blog s’est entretenu avec le directeur des communications et marketing de Pixmob. Entrevue avec Simon St-Germain. On voit leur technologie un peu partout ces temps-ci. Vous étiez au Montreal Fashion Tech organisé par Printemps numérique au McCord? Ces montres blanches lumineuses qui servaient de cartes d’affaires 3.0 et bien c’était eux! Pleins feux sur l’entreprise […]

Champion du coin | Limonade espace de travaille pour les créateurs

Qu’est-ce que Lemonade Workspace? Lemonade offre aux entrepreneurs une option de co-working abordable. Un magnifique espace à air ouvert comprenant des cubicules modernes et design et des salles de conférence privées. Oh oui et ça inclut l’accès à une salle de gym! Pourquoi limonade? Le loyer d’un espace de bureau est un facteur important pour […]

StartupExperience.ca Startup Fest

Participez à l’ExpérienceStartup.CA

Nos partenaires de StartupFest ont des nouvelles intéressantes pour les start-up internationales. Vous pouvez postuler dès maintenant pour vivre et travailler parmi l’une des communautés de startups canadiennes les plus actives pour une période de trois mois. Cette nouvelle initiative, StartupExperience.CA, a été lancée pour donner également aux entrepreneurs canadiens la possibilité de vivre et […]

Queer Tech MTL

Les alliées de la communauté sont remerciés

Jeudi dernier DCMTL est allé à l’événement Queer Tech: For the love of allies. Situé au bureau Local Logic sur Avenue de Gaspé l’idée était d’aller encourager nos amis qui travaillent dans le milieu de la technologie. Quelle bonne idée, car nos amis savent comment recevoir. Cet événement avait pour but de remercier “les alliés” […]

Tax Season 2016 How to File

L’entrepreneur et la fiscalité

Nous sommes, DCMTL, toujours à la recherche d’opportunités pour élargir notre communauté et les services que nous offrons à nos lecteurs. De ce fait, nous nous sommes récemment associés à l’Association des Gens d’Affaires Ahuntsic-Cartierville, un groupe dont le but ressemble énormément au nôtre; développer l’écosystème entrepreneurial du District Central en réseautant! Avec ceci en […]

Ilias MTL NewTech

Les Pitonneux animaient la soirée DemoNight avec MTL NewTech

L’équipe de DCMTL a assisté à l’édition de février de DemoNight de MTL NewTech, organisée par District 3 situé à Concordia (où 90% de l’équipe DCMTL a étudié). C’était une soirée importante pour Les Pitonneux, un incubateur pour les gens qui apprennent à coder, cette soirée marquait leur «graduation» du programme du LAB12. Les Pitonneux […]

Gilles Dube Ford Canada DCMTL Businesses Oatbox Pixmob Chic Marie

Ford Eco-Sport et les éléments essentiels de l’entreprenariat

DCMTL Blog participait au panel de discussion entrepreneurial « Adopter l’essentiel, vivre en grand ! » organisé par Ford Canada, dans le cadre du Salon International de l’auto de Montréal. Animé par Jean-Benoit Aubé l’événement nous présentait également le tout nouveau EcoSport® 2018 de Ford.  Ce VUS sous-compact se veut amusant, performant et connecté. Trois des plus dynamiques entrepreneurs […]

dcmtl central district business panel

Adopter l’essentiel, vivre en grand!

Le vendredi 20 janvier, 3 compagnies basées au District Central se réuniront au Palais des Congrès, pour participer à la conférence Go Small, Live Big Entrepreneur Panel: “Adopter l’essentiel, vivre en grand ! Nos voisins du District Central parleront de leurs entreprises novateurs et qu’es-ce qui les a menés au succès dans leurs industries. Les conférenciers […]

Queer tech mtl

Queer Tech Mtl: être soi même au travail

Queer Tech Mtl débute l’année 2017 en encourageant les gens de la communauté gaie à se rassembler le 18 janvier afin d’échanger et réseauter avec d’autres professionnels Tech+Queer et leurs amis à Montréal et partout ailleurs. Queer Tech MTL est un group montréalais qui encourage les gens de la communauté gaie de se sentir à […]

creative box studios dcmtl central district

SOUS LE FEU DU PROJECTEUR : CREATIVE BOX INC.

1. Décrivez votre entreprise. C’est un studio d’art pour l’industrie textile. Creative Box inc se spécialise dans la séparation de couleur, la production de film pour l’impression de sérigraphie, l’impression de textile mode et l’ensemble technique de conception graphique et des lignes des vêtements. La création de dessin d’art pour l’impression à l’étranger, les dessins […]

FOR. design planning dcmtl montreal central district

Champion du Coin: FOR. Design Planning

1. Décrivez votre entreprise FOR. design planning, c’est une firme en design d’intérieur spécialisée en design corporatif, commercial et d’habitations multiples. Notre expérience, notre approche collaborative et notre expertise favorisent l’émergence de solutions sensibles et créatives. Les projets qui en résultent sont empreints de sens et constituent un ajout positif pour le client et les […]

ted chung MERRY JANE Web Summit 2016

CANNA-BUSINESS ENTREVUE AVEC LE COFONDATEUR ET CEO DE MERRY JANE : TED CHUNG

DCMTL était récemment à Lisbonne, au Portugal pour assister au Web Summit, une conférence annuelle sur la technologie qui attire les innovateurs partout dans le monde. Lorsque nous avons appris que le PDG de MERRY JANE et son cofondateur Ted Chung donnait une conférence, nous avons sauté sur l’occasion. Après tout, il est l’un des […]

Techsew, DCMTL

DCMTL Passé et Présent

Cette semaine, nous avons pensé que ce serait intéressant de vous conter l’histoire du District Central, et de découvrir comment cet endroit est devenu un incubateur de startup qu’elle est aujourd’hui. Ce qu’on a trouvé intéressant c’est que le quartier a toujours été une place idéale pour l’établissement des startups. Le District Central est arrivé […]

tedxmontreal speaker lineup DCMTL Blog Central District

Les conférenciers TEDxMontreal 2016!

La liste des conférenciers est maintenant publique et nous avons l’honneur de la partager avec vous. TEDxMontréal accueillera 12 professionnels et visionnaires prééminents à Espace DCMTL. Tout ces conférenciers travaillent – d’une façon ou d’une autre – à créer un monde meilleur. Du domaine de neuroscience et l’agriculture à la technologie et des histoires incroyables. Peu importe […]

vote-illustration

Concours DCMTL Startup Lab: Le Vote Débute Aujourd’hui!

On y est! Aujourd’hui débute la période de vote du concours #DCMTLStartupLab! Les montages vidéo sont maintenant publiés sur le site Internet officiel du Concours DCMTL Startup Lab et vous pouvez voter pour votre montage vidéo préféré. En tant que premier concours bilingue de ce genre, tous nos participants ont été encouragés de soumettre leur […]

dcmtl-startup-lab

Les Juges du Concours DCMTL Startup Lab sont annoncés

Avec moins d’une semaine avant la fin de la période de soumission, nous sommes fières de vous annoncer les juges du Concours DCMTL Startup Lab ! C’est avec plaisir que nous partageons avec vous l’équipe d’experts montréalais qui occuperont les postes de juges, par contre, avant cela laissons nous vous rappeler les détails des Concours […]

startup fest tent village old montreal

International StartupFest Returns to Take Over Old Montreal

Startupfest will officially kick off this Wednesday July 13th in Old Montreal. Event-goers will return to the familliar stomping grounds at Jardin des Éclusiers to attend a variety of inspirational talks, pitches and keynotes. As of 5:30PM organizers and volounteers will welcome startups of all levels, students and the generally intrigued who are looking to network and learn more […]

Cafe coffee beans DCMTL

The Cafes Around Central District

It’s been said that coffee makes the world go ’round. Considering the positive effects that it has on productivity, there could very well be some truth to that theory. Allow us to introduce you to 5 cafes that are contributing to the happiness and productivity of Central District. Terra Coffee Proudly handcrafting premium quality coffees […]

Promenade Fleury DCMTL

Things to do in Ahuntsic-Cartierville’s District Central

Wine and dine A photo posted by lechienrose (@lechienrose) on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:33am PDT From pasta bars to cozy cafes, there’s a restaurant to satisfy every food craving you could possibly think of. If the ideal way to spend your down time involves food and drink, then we have a few recommendations for […]

F.F.A.T Snaps| Week 18 | The Hocus Pocus ball at the McCord Museum

This years annual ball at the McCord museum was everything you would expect and more. A truly 5 star evening. There is no better way to say it. The event, which took place at L’Arsenal, was attended by the finest members of Montreal high society. The staff at the museum prepared a memorable evening. Inspired […]

Business in the spotlight: Pixmob

DCMTL Blog had the chance to interview Pixmob’s Marketing and communications director Simon St-Germain. We see their technology a little bit everywhere these days. Did you have a chance to attend Montreal’s Fashion Tech event, at the McCord museum, organised by Montreal’s digital spring? Those white luminous watches that doubled as business cards 3.0, were […]

Business in the Spotlight: Lemonade Workspace is Central Districts Latest Squeeze

What is Lemonade Workspace? Lemonade Workspace offers entrepreneurs affordable co-working options from hot desks and dedicated cubicles to private conference rooms. Oh yeah, and it includes access to a gym! Why Lemonade? Let’s face it: overhead puts a significant strain on small businesses – especially freelancers. When you add up the costs, it puts a […]

StartupExperience.ca Startup Fest

Announcing StartupExperience.CA

Our partners at StartupFest have some exciting news for international startups: you can now apply now to live and work in one of Canada’s top Startup cities for three months! This new initiative, StartupExperience.CA, also gives entrepreneurs from Canada the opportunity to in a different Canadian city. How about that, eh? They have partnered with […]

Queer Tech MTL

Queer Tech MTL Loves Their Allies

Last Thursday, Team DCMTL attended Queer Tech MTL’s monthly event, only this time there was an especially unique theme: For the Love of Allies. This networking equivalent of a love note paid homage to the allies who continue to support the Queer startup community. As their invitation said: “Without our allies, we would be far too exclusionary for our […]

Tax Season 2016 How to File

Tax Season Lessons for Entrepreneurs

The DCMTL team is always looking for ways to expand our community and the services we offer our readers. As such, we have recently partnered with the Ahuntsic-Cartierville Business Networking Association, a group whose purpose is very closely aligned with our own; to network and grow Central District’s entrepreneurial ecosystem! With that in mind and tax season is […]

Gilles Dube Ford Canada DCMTL Businesses Oatbox Pixmob Chic Marie

Ford Eco-Sport and The Essentials of Entrepreneurship

DCMTL Blog attended Ford Canada’s Go Small, Live Big panel, hosted by Jean-Benoit Aubé. The panel took place as part of the launch of the all-new 2018 EcoSport® – Ford’s latest Fun, Capable and Connected compact SUV, and featured three of Central District most dynamic entrepreneurs Marc-Antoine Bovet, Co-founder of OatBox, Marie-Philip Simard Founder of […]

dcmtl central district business panel

Go Small, Live Big Entrepreneur Panel

On Friday, January 20, three Central District-based businesses will gather at Palais de Congres to discuss their innovative new businesses, and what brought them great success in their respective industries. The panel will consist of 3 Central District-based businesses: – Marc-Antoine Bovet, Co-founder, Oatbox – Marie-Philip Simard, Founder, Chic Marie – Simon St-Germain, Communications and […]

creative box studios dcmtl central district

Business in the Spotlight: Creative Box Inc.

1. Describe your business. Art studio catering to the textile industry. Creative box specializes in color separation, film output for screen printing, fashion printing in textile and graphic design tech pack, and lines for garments.  Design allover print artwork for overseas printing, technical drawing of garments and board presentation. 2. Describe your business’s involvement in and […]

Techsew, DCMTL

DCMTL then and now

This week we thought it would be interesting to tell the story of District Central, and find out just how this area came to be the burgeoning startup incubator that it is today. Interestingly enough, through our research, we found that the area has really always been the ideal place for startups to call home. […]

tedxmontreal speaker lineup DCMTL Blog Central District

TEDxMontreal Speaker Lineup Announcement

The TEDxMontreal speaker lineup has been announced, and we couldn’t be happier to share them with you. On November 12th 2016, TEDxMontreal is hosting 12 incredible notable professionals and visionaries, at Space DCMTL. These speakers are all – in one way or another – working hard to make this world a better place. From neuroscience […]

vote-illustration

DCMTL Startup Lab: Voting Starts Today!

The day has arrived and day one of voting for your fave video pitch in the #DCMTLStartupLab Contest has begun! All eligible entries are now posted on the DCMTL Startup Lab Contest official web page for all to watch. As the first bilingual contest of its kind, each participant was encouraged to submit their application and […]

dcmtl-startup-lab

Judges of the DCMTL Startup Lab Contest Announced

With less than a week left until the application deadline, the judges of the DCMTL Startup Lab Contest have been announced, and we couldn’t be more excited to share them with you! It brings us great pleasure to share the following line-up of some of Montreal’s finest but first, we’ll remind you of a few details […]

startup fest tent village old montreal

International StartupFest Returns to Take Over Old Montreal

Startupfest will officially kick off this Wednesday July 13th in Old Montreal. Event-goers will return to the familliar stomping grounds at Jardin des Éclusiers to attend a variety of inspirational talks, pitches and keynotes. As of 5:30PM organizers and volounteers will welcome startups of all levels, students and the generally intrigued who are looking to network and learn more […]

Cafe coffee beans DCMTL

The Cafes Around Central District

It’s been said that coffee makes the world go ’round. Considering the positive effects that it has on productivity, there could very well be some truth to that theory. Allow us to introduce you to 5 cafes that are contributing to the happiness and productivity of Central District. Terra Coffee Proudly handcrafting premium quality coffees […]